01 February 2010

New EPO President elected this week?

Under the headline "Fresh round of voting for next EPO President", the Administrative Council of the European Patent Organisation announced today that it will once again vote to elect the EPO President after the votings at the 119th and 120th Council Meetings in October and December 2009, respectively, ended with no result, as none of the candidates managed to obtain the required qualified majority of three-quarters of the votes cast by the Organisation's member states:

At an extraordinary meeting in Munich on 2/3 February, delegations of the 36 member states of the Organisation will vote to nominate a successor to EPO President Alison Brimelow.

The candidates for the presidency are Susanne Ǻs Sivborg, Director General of the Swedish Patent and Registration Office, Benoît Battistelli, Director General of the French National Institute of Industrial Property, and Roland Grossenbacher, Director of the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property.